Listen Out / Listen In (Working title) (2021)


Listen Out / Listen In is a dance project for four dancers, which will be realized as two different performances. Both performances are inspired by the work of Pauline Oliveros, who suggested that true listening is a vibrant and creative act. The first performance, Listen Out, is a dance outdoors among the trees, where the dancers listen to the living environment, and join the ongoing dance of wind rustling through the leaves and birds zipping by in the branches. The dancers move as if the forest is their home, inviting the audience to consider that they, too, might belong in the forest. The second performance, Listen In, takes place in a theater, where the music of Pauline Oliveros reverberates in the space. The deeply resonant sounds of her piece “Deep Listening” carry the dancers towards open and generous movements, and as they dance they create dynamic spirals of movement in the room. The audience, who surround the dancers on all sides, feel implicated in this ongoing flow of expansive circular energy.


Concept & choreography Daniel Linehan
Creation & performance Gorka Gurrutxaga Arruti, Anneleen Keppens, Victor Pérez Armero, Louise Tanoto
Dramaturgy TBC
Music by Pauline Oliveros (only for Listen In)
Costumes Frédérick Denis
Light Elke Verachtert
Sound (only for Listen In) TBC
Production Hiatus (Brussels, BE)
Coproduction deSingel (Antwerp, BE), Centre Chorégraphique National de Rillieux-la-Pape (FR) & others TBC
Residencies deSingel (Antwerp, BE), Centre Chorégraphique National de Rillieux-la-Pape (FR), CC de Factorij (Zaventem, BE) & others TBC
International tour planning Damien Valette (Paris, FR)

Daniel Linehan/Hiatus is Creative Associate at deSingel International Arts Campus 2017-2021 (Antwerp, BE) and supported by the Flemish authorities. 

< >